Many old cities around the world are going through a major process of modernization. What are the advantages and disadvantages of modernization?

The world is changing at a swift speed due to not the advent of technology per se, but because of the need of upgradation. The ancient towns are drastically converting into metros and in my opinion, a plethora of pros and cons, elucidated in ensuing paragraphs, are associated with this new norm.

Pondering the merits of such scenario, the foremost one is that better lifestyle for people. In other words, owing to technology, the residents will get modern facilities in terms of education, health and transport that collectively improves the living standards of citizen. In addition, safety is added feature of modernisation as old buildings usually have minimal safety measures, new constructions provide a sense of safety to the citizens. Other modern contrivance device such as computers, televisions, mobile phones and many more also luxuriate the life as users can not only get myriads of information but also communicate globally through just a snap of fingers.

Expounding the demerits of this tendency, the primary one is that traditional and cultural values are diminishing. As old buildings depict the heritage of a nation and customs, their demolition, sometimes, leads to loss of the memories associated with them. Furthermore, people are utmost busy with their life and fulfilling their gratifications through modern amenities that they become isolated and stressed. This is because majority of people living in modern downtowns are swamped with hectic scheduled and have paucity of time to spend with friends and family unlike people living in old town, away from modern life who are more contented.

In conclusion, there are quite a few advantages of modernisation such as better lifestyle, safety and convenience along with some disadvantages such as dwindling of cultural buildings and fast paced life. However, in my perception change is necessary and if precautionary measures are taken, people can get best of both worlds.