Globalization has contributed major changes as most of the old cities have gone through rapid changes. Old cities and neighborhoods around us have changed a lot since the start of Industrial Revolution in the 19th century. The modernization of our ancient cities has brought up economic development and materialistic lifestyle. At the same time, we cannot ignore the environmental degradation and loss of cultural identity caused by it.

Firstly, development activities conducted in ancient cities have contributed to economic development resulting in job and wealth creation. For example, city of Cairo has gone through a process of modernization in the past century as local government has invested in modern infrastructure like road, public transport, modern housing, and so on. Furthermore, transformation from primitive lifestyle into materialistic one is also the direct result of old city transformation. For instance, citizen of Cairo can access electricity, water supply, and delivery of essential items from their home itself. Thus, modernization has contributed to economic success and comfortable lifestyle.

To begin with disadvantages of modernization of primitive cities, loss of environment, and its cultural identity are major ones. Firstly, pollution of environment is seen as a biggest threat to humankind which is also a result of development process that has been ignoring its surrounding environment. For instance, Varanasi city in India has contributed immensely in polluting Ganges River causing loss of natural habitat for many species. Furthermore, upgradation of old cities resulted in loss of local language, culture and architecture as well. For example, city of Rome has forever lost its ancient language, culture, and monuments in process of development. Therefore, cities around the world have seen losses in environment and culture when being transformed to its modern being.

To conclude, rapid development in many primitive cities has brought about changes that are both good and bad. This essay has discussed about the economic transformation and change in people's lifestyle alongside shedding light on environmental and cultural damage that came along the modernization of old cities.