Punishing children has been popular method to enforce discipline among children in many societies. Although physical punishment may have been popular option, recent trend suggests otherwise. This essay will argue why harshly punishing children is not a suitable option for teaching discipline.

Physical violence remains an easy option for many parents to teach required life skills to their kids. They are always cautious about the way children are behaving, which may not be as they wished, therefore, forcing them to use power. Children's behavior may not be social at times, like excessive violence with their peers, which forces parents to become more aggressive to correct such habits. Indeed, there are numerous reports suggesting punishment may work in case of radically aggressive children, but the reliability of such reports is always questioned. Use of power could be a way to teach one's child a lesson, but it is no way justified by science.

For one, punishing children makes them psychologically less confident. An aggressive environment at home could hamper their ability to face new people and situations. In fact, research by the South African government has clearly identified the issue of children not able to speak in public who were harshly beaten at home. Furthermore, with the development of new system, there are various alternatives to educate children who show disapproving behavior. For example, sports academies are viable option to install discipline onto a child. Children are mentally affected when power is used as tool to reinforce discipline, therefore, admission to sports academies may be the way to go forward.

This essay argued that physical punishment is not a good way to teach discipline as it can negatively impact child physic and better option in form of sports center can be used. In my opinion, beating children is absolutely worse choice to teach discipline as it can results in negativity among children.