Many parents believe that when their children read books for entertainment, they are wasting their time and that they should read only serious, educational books. What is your opinion about this?

No doubt, reading books is a good habit and excellent source of information. Two types of books available in the market, books for entertainment and educational books. Both types of books have their own importance. Some parents believe that reading entertainment books is a waste of time and they should read education and serious books only. I am totally against this type of thinking, in this essay, I will discuss and support my point that entertainment books also provide information and necessary for children.

To begin with the benefits of entertainment books, the first benefit of entertainment books is that these books provide enjoyment for children with the enhancement of reading and learning skills. It is human nature that if a person is enjoying his work than he will never get bored. Similar way, children can improve their reading skills and vocabulary by reading such books without getting bored. If children only read serious books without enjoy so they will never get its true benefits.

Furthermore, entertainment books also a source of character improvement. For example, a child read storybook that provides some moral lesson which helps in character building of children. Recently, a research proves that enjoyable books contribute to the mental growth of children and the children read enjoyable books can express their feeling, emotions, and thinking more as compared to other children.

To sum up the whole discussion, it is very clear that enjoyable and entertainment books have their own importance and benefits. Reading these books is not a waste of time so, parents should motivate their children to read these books.