In many parts of the world today there is a profitable market for products which lighten or whiten people’s skin. Outline the reasons for using such products and discuss what effect they have in terms of health on society?

Presently,there are various sections on Planet Earth that make huge amount of money by selling products which claim to transform skin tone of people. There may be a number of justifications why people use these products.However they might have some serious implications on their well being in terms of health. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Primarily, one of the main reasons why people would wish to use these products is to look attractive.Everyone today wants to look good and a lot of significance and attention is given to good looking individuals.While it is partly justified for women in the modelling and fashion industry to consume these products as it contributes a lions share to their earning . However, they need to consider the side effects and the consequences that some of the products might pose.Personally, I particularly came across a model.She was advised to consume glutathione sprays and tablets by a certified cosmetologist .There was a tremendous improvement in the skin tone and complexion over a specific period of time.As a consequence,she felt more confident and ready to take on the world.

As much as the numerous other benefits that these widely advertised beauty products may provide, the effect and the impact of them on the health of the people cannot be ignored.In the long run ,some of the tablets might have some side effects which may make the consumer vulnerable .However,it also depends on whether these products were taken orally or applied topically as creams.Some individuals may develop rashes and pigmentation issues on prolonged use .

On continuous use of these products it is highly likely that the pharmaceutical companies have earned huge sums of money.I personally feel that laws must be enforced by the government to regulate e sale of the products so that it has negligible health issues on the consumers , thereby creating a happy society.