Different countries have different punishment systems. Some of them using a standard punishment for all kind of criminals that has brought several upsides and downsides.

On one hand, There are numerous benefits in setting an equal punishment procedure which convinced many governments to consider it as a sole solution. Firstly, it can streamline the process of judgment which leads to obtain faster result and time saving. Secondly, as a result of having a clear and documented penalties, people who aim to commit a crime with lower motivation might change their minds. Finally, having a determined and permanent discipline causes less misjudgment that comes from different judge attitudes.

On the other hand, limited penalty system creates ill-effects which have dire consequences for specific parts of community in different occasions. It is said that decreasing the investigation and evidence collecting time which is common among society using a fixed punishment, results in judgment in considerable complex cases.

Moreover, having a same penalty for different criminal types and scales is the opposite of fairness and brings miscarriage judgment for communities. For example, in 1998 a woman sentenced 10-year prison and a man who killed 5 children in their schools got them same trial.

In conclusion, using a fixed punishment system in courts is an efficient way to save money and time spending for checking different cases with different scenarios, although certain negative points such as unfairness and injustice are deniable.