Many people believe that having a fixed punishment for all crimes is more efficient.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed punishment?

Every misdeed is bound to a penalty; in this regard, there are many who propound that penalizing every offense and unlawful act with a pre-decided and fixed way would be more efficient. Despite the fact that all crimes are of different intensity and, hence, require different punishments; however, having fixed penalty for all crimes would ensure equal punishment indiscriminately.

One evident advantage of fixing a penalty for all crimes will ensure that the affluent sector of the society does not escape from the punishment after committing a crime. That is to say, poor people always get penalized for committing an unlawful act, whereas the powerful and wealthy escape justice using wealth and power. When pre-decided and fixed penalty will be imposed on all crimes, wealthy people would not be able to influence the verdict and escape from justice. Another reason that having fixed penalty for all crimes would be advantageous is that people will get justice timely, as it takes a long while to proceed the case and decide the punishment. On the contrary, when punishment is fixed, no time would be wasted in deciding the punishment, and the criminal would get his punishment in no time.

On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages to having fixed punishment for all crimes. Firstly, every crime has a different intensity and should be penalized accordingly. For instance, murder and theft in a street are two different crimes with each having a different impact on society. Hence, the people involved in these two crimes cannot be given the same punishment. Similar is the case with other crimes, where each crime has a different impact on society. Some crimes have a more devastating impact on the people of community compared to others, and their performers must be treated differently. Another reason that having fixed penalty for all crimes would be disadvantageous is that the rate of serious crimes will surge. As the criminals involved in small crimes, such as theft and drugs, will dare to commit serious crimes like murder because in case they get caught, they would face the same punishment while committing the serious crimes.

To conclude, fixed punishment for all crimes has its own advantages, but if every crime is treated the same way, it will affect the system of justice badly, and it will result in turmoil.