Many people believe that in order to have clean and tidy streets in their neighbourhood, this should be the residents’ responsibility, while others think it should be the government’s duty. What is your opinion?

It is imperative that our surroundings should be clean and tidy. Some people believe that it is the responsibility of the citizens to ensure that the streets are kept tidy; however, few others believe that the government has to keep the society clean. In my opinion, it is the responsibility of both to ascertain that the neighbourhood is kept clean.

On the one hand, it is significant that the government provides a robust infrastructure for waste management. The government has to build waste collection boxes in each street so that people can conveniently dump their wastes. Consequently, they should build a team in collecting these rubbish from every streets regularly so that the waste does not get accumulated. For example, the government of India initiated scheme named Swach Bharat, in this scheme every road had trash cans installed and there a significant amount of waste found on the roads after the implementation of this program. Also, there must be a law for punishing individuals who do not follow the rules. People should be strictly adviced not to dump any waste on vacant lands, and if any individual breaks the law has to be punished severely so that others do not repeat it.

On the other hand, people play a vital role in keeping the streets clean. It is essential that we live in a clean and neat environment. Today, there are various diseases that are spread because of dumping trash on roads. For example, in a recent survey by WHO it was found that a particular slum in Kochi had the highest number of dengue patients. And when the slum was visited, it was found that because of the huge pile of food waste, the mosquitoes numbers grew and lead to many people falling sick.

To conclude, both the government and people has an equal responsibility to ensure that our neighbourhood is kept clean. If the proper infrastructure is built, most of the waste management problems will be under control.