Today, it is very common to have people from two different generations mix in the same workplace. Are there more advantages or disadvantages to this situation? Give your own opinion and include relevant examples.

It is true that work places are changing rapidly in adapting different age group of people working together. In my opinion the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

Firstly, when young generation joins the workplace as a fresher, they can be guided well b y their more experience colleague. A senior staff can be his mentor and can give a proper training. For instance, when there are new projects both the fresher and senior colleague can work together and complete the project. Since, there was someone to mentor him it will be easy for him to adapt and perform much quicker rather than having no one senior to help him out. Seniors can mould the younger staff and nurture him to teach him leadership skill, communication skill and many other skills that are essential for his growth in the organisation.

However, most of the seniors are not comfortable to work with younger generation due to their ego or other issues. They do co-operation or support the younger co worker. Indeed, the organisation must also see that the newly joined candidate also ensure that they are not complacent to work together with seniors. Team work is the key for any tasks in the organisation. Since the younger staffs bring in the latest knowledge when compared to a senior staff, they can help solve issues related to current technology compared to an older staff.

To conclude, there are many benefits rather than the negatives for a workplace to have mixed age group of employees. For any organisation to achieve success employees must ensure to work as a team.