Many people believe that the increasing number of cars in cities is the biggest source of

pollution and waste. Others think that industries are the ones causing pollution. Discuss both

views and give your opinion.

Major cities in the world are getting polluted today at an alarming rate. Myriad of people feel that the reason for this is because more cars are getting added to the roads whereas others believe that industrial wastes are majorly to be blamed. This essay will discuss both the views, however, in my opinion, industrial waste pollute cities at a larger scale.

On one hand, copious vehicles are added to our roads. Since numerous individuals are choosing to migrate to larger cities from small towns, the population is growing. Nowadays, each family member owns a vehicle for ease of commuting. Eventually, more cars lead to air pollution because of smoke emission. For example, Delhi is rated as the most polluted city in India, when a study was conducted to check why the air pollution has risen, it was found that the number of vehicles had doubled in the last five years. Therefore, this was the major contributor for air pollution.

On the other hand, industries have boomed rapidly in all metros. Industrial waste management is a humongous challenge for all industrialists. Since most of the industries are operating within the city limits their waste discharges are polluting the drinking water which causes water pollution. For example, Tirupur is famous for garment manufacturing and lots of industries are operating there. Apparently, these manufacturers are dumping their chemical dye discharges into rivers and canals in order to ease their work. This is polluting the drinking water sources for the people of this city and even most of the underground water levels are contaminated with hazardous chemical water.

To conclude, industries are a major contributor for polluting the cities more compared to vehicles.

However, to reduce the pollution from vehicles, E-Vehicles are being introduced and similar initiatives also have to be incorporated for polluting industries.