Some people are concerned that children spend too much time on computers-playing games, chatting, and watching videos. But all this time is actually good preparation for children, who will have to spend many hours working on computers throughout their education and their work lives.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Kids today utilize most of their time playing games and watching videos on the computer. Some people feel that they are wasting time by doing so, while, few others believe that spending more time on computers will be helpful for their studies and future jobs. I completely disagree with the view that computers are needed for all future jobs and studies.

Firstly, Children get addicted when they spend endless hours in front of the computer playing video games. Moreover, this will lead to multiple health-related issues such as vision problems and obesity. For instance, in a recent survey, it was found that around 50 per cent of the children were using spectacles, and the cause for this was the high usage of computers. Another issue is that due to sedentary working, kids do not indulge in any physical activities and become obese at a young age. With these impacts, a kid’s future will be unhealthy and can hurt his career.

Secondly, it is a wrong assumption that every kids’ future is interlinked to computers. There are many other imperative career aspects in life. There are many other myriads of careers that require other skills. Indeed, if a youngster wants to become an artist or sportsmen it is not necessary that he must be equipped with computer skills, rather he must incorporate the skills that are required in his field of work. For example, Sachin Tendulkar was a school dropout and barely had any computer skills but today he is considered the best cricketer in the world. Therefore, one should ascertain what skill must be acquired in his career.

To conclude, in today's technological era basis computer skills are vital but it does not mean that all future and jobs are dependants on machine assistances.