In many countries around the world, shopping has turned into a form of entertainment rather than a way of getting what people need. Discuss the reason for this trend. Is it a positive or negative development.

Today shopping is more of an impulsive purchase rather than its necessity. Since there is an increase in shopping malls around the globe shopping has become easier as everything is available under one roof. This essay will discuss why shopping is considered as an entertainment today and in my opinion, I feel there are more negative aspects to this trend than positive.

On the one hand,earlier people used to do shopping for fulfilling their basic requirements, but today it is seen as a leisure activity. Today people purchase products that are not essential for them. The change in this trend of shopping is because today's generation earns more than earlier people. Therefore, their disposable income is higher. Moreover, today there are myriad of financial schemes such as EMI, credit card and so on which makes purchasing any value of goods easy. For example, if an individual wants to shop a mobile, he can purchase it even if he has no money to pay for it immediately. Such purchases were not possible during earlier days. Therefore, shopping at ease is treated as an entertainment for people.

On the other hand,even though people have more income today and do more shopping there are situations where people buy products which are unnecessary. Due to this impulsive purchase using credit facilities many individuals go under financial crisis. For example, in a recent survey, it was found that 80% of youngsters borrowed loans from banks to purchase products that are beyond the capacity and became financial defaulters. Today youngsters do shopping on seeing what others own and in order to maintain the same status they do unwanted shopping.

To conclude, shopping can be considered as an entertainment if there is a need for the product and can maintain financial discipline.