Some people believe that they should keep all the money they have earned and should not pay tax to the state.

Do you agree or disagree with the above notion?

Taxes are essential for the growth of the country. A few individuals believe that the government should not deduct taxes from their earnings. I completely disagree with this notion and firmly believe that citizens are entitled to pay taxes for the betterment of the country and for an enhanced standard of living.

Firstly, it is a fact that every country runs on the taxes that are collected from their citizens. These taxes are collected for the construction of various facilities such as public transportation, medical facilities, universities, and so on. Indeed, the taxes collected are reimbursed to the public in the form of such infrastructures, and they are benefitted. For example, in countries like Canada and Australia, the citizens enjoy free medical and primary education facilities for free, and this is possible because their people contribute to the government to take care of them in return.

Secondly, paying taxes is a kind of savings in some countries. The people of these countries enjoy retirement benefits from the government when they are aged. People hardly find well-paid jobs when they are above 60 and might earn only minimum wages therefore, in such a situation, the pension that the government pays will be helpful. For example, in countries like Canada and Australia, the government provide retirement benefits to their citizens since they had paid taxes and government in return takes cares of them when they are old.

To conclude, taxes are resources for the government to build the country and ensure that their citizens have a good standard of living. People also need facilities like hospitals, universities and robust transportation systems and to meet these government need money and taxes are the primary source to offer these.