Many People believe that social networking sites (such as facebook) have had a huge negetive impact on both individual and society, to what extend do you agree.

Down the centuries, there has been a drastic change in people’s communication. With the help of digital advancement, distances have shortened and all the barriers of long distance relationships have been removed. Despite of all the advantages of social networking, there are evident negative impacts not only over individuals but on the society as a whole. I moderately agree to this school of thought as its utilization is upon consumer’s discretion.

To begin with, one of the obvious bad impact of these sites is the over indulgence of youth. Youngsters are so encircled internet usage that they forget people around them and their core responsibilities. To elucidate it further, a new mania in people is to post everything over social sites. It has now become a status to check-in to the places you have visited for lunch/dinner or should post pictures of shopping you did. The concept of private life has become obsolete. It’s rightly said that access of everything is bad, there is no denial that people should have the ability to adapt changes based upon emerging needs and should also enjoy benefits of technological inventions; but this must be done to a reasonable extent.

On the contrary, such communication mediums help people reconnect with old friends or people they have considered lost. These sites give people freedom of speech and a platform where they can share their point of views. These networking sites are being utilized in many positive aspects as well, such as, advertisements, online business platform, non-profit organizations platform etc.

To recapitulate the aforementioned, innovation can never be tagged as positive and negative. It is the usage of such developments that that drives the impact. It is solely dependent on users to utilize in rational ways that it results in benefit eventually.