Social networks such as Facebook or Instagram have been created for many years with the goal to connect people together. Since there are million of people using the networks, it is not possible to control all the users and some of them might do something unpleasant that bring a negative result to other people or societies. However, in my opinion, I strongly believe that the networks provide more benefits to the world than the negative effects they created.

With regard to individuals, social networks allow people to communicate and share their memory together in many ways. Firstly, friends or colleagues are able to share group photos together while allowing others to see or comment on. Secondly, a student or an expat who live abroad can share daily life activities to their family and bring them closer.

Furthermore, the networks also benefit society by connecting a group of people who has the same interest together. For example, hobbyist photographers can share their idea and knowledge about photography. A professional group such as a group of software developers helps developing junior developers into more capable engineers. These groups sometimes also hold a meeting to bring their knowledge sharing to another level by face-to-face communication and workshops.

Unfortunately, some people in the networks sometimes use the networks in an unethical way to damage the reputation of other people such as cyber bulling, or revenge porn. The networks sometimes are used to bring a group of people who hate a particular person or organization together and eventually might do something undesirable in real world.

In summary, social networks connect people together in various types of relationships such as family, friends, colleagues, local community, profession, love, or hate. Although, people in the networks do many things that benefit themselves or their society, there is also a dark side of the networks that people use it in an unpleasant way.