Many people believe that spending a lot of money on weddings is fine, while others completely disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion and examples.

Getting married is one of the most important events of an individual's life. As such the money spent in these events reaches astronomical numbers. But is this a good practice? While some believe it to be totally file, others strictly oppose such extravagance. This essay will analyze both camps before a reasoned conclusion is formed.

Firstly, the proponents of this practice claim that marriage is a once in a life time event, which leaves a permanent mark in memories of the people involved, and thus should be made as big of a celebration as possible. For example, many people delay their wedding until they have saved enough money to make their special occasion the most memorable one. Thus, since these people save money especially for this event, they feel that it is absolutely okay to spend as much as they want. From this it is quite evident why this view has garnered support.

However, on the other hand, some argue that this practice could have detrimental effects on our society in a number of ways. For one, this trend of spending without any moderation can deter younger generation and the less fortunate ones, who do not have a lot of money to spend, from getting married. In addition, often the money spend in weddings is on unnecessary items which have no materialistic benefits. For instance, most of the couples import chandeliers from foreign countries to setup in their wedding halls, and have specially designed curtains for them, which cost a lot and has no real benefit other than just being used as a means of boasting and showoff. If the couple spend a little carefully, then they can save a lot of money which can be used somewhere else. Thus, this makes it clear why this side of argument has such strong following.

To sum up, since wedding is a special occasion people feel that it is ok to spend without limits, but this is not welcomed by some because it deters the poorer members of society from getting married and also because there is a lot of extravagance involved. I believe that it is not a good practice to spend without consideration on weddings or any other events and people should be very careful with their spendings. Finally, it is predicted that this trend will slowly diminish from our society as people realize its many drawbacks.