Many people believe that teachers can influence the intellectual and social development of children, more than parents do. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your opinion and include relevant examples.

While the effect of teachers on students' development is substantial, there is a controversial debate on the extent of their influence on children in comparison to the contribution of parents. I personally believe that teachers have a more important role than parents in the intellectual and social growth of adolescents due to various reasons.

Advocates often highlight the fact that teachers are more experienced in dealing with students. Thus, not only instructors studied psychological and pedagogical courses during their training, but also have they been exposed to a lot of students, giving them invaluable knowledge. It is also worth mentioning that dual-income families are very usual these days, left little time for parents to spend time with their children. However, teachers, on the other hand, play pivotal roles in the upbringing of children by interacting with them on a daily basis. Finally, students, who are interested in fields, such as art, literature or science, could learn much more specialized teachers. These teachers could provoke students into different fields, and lead pupils into deeper understanding, yet parents could not offer this to their children.

Admittedly, parents know their children much better by observing their upbringing through the years. They have only honest objections on the well-being of their children, while teachers do their duty because of their job. However, parents could not help teenagers as much as teachers, since they don't have enough information.

Taken together, it is not deniable that parents play a considerable role in children's upbringing. However, I believe that teachers play a more important role in the development of children since they are well-equipped with experience and knowledge.