Some think that teenagers should follow older people’s rules. Others think that it is natural for them to challenge what older people say. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, there is a controversial debate regarding the question that whether or not teenagers should follow rules established by older people. The reasoning of both perspectives will be discussed in this essay, and I will state my view in the conclusion.

Critics mention several valid reasons regarding the merits of following older people’s rules by youngsters. Firstly, not only older people have invaluable intuition about different aspects of life, but also do they have unbiased and positive intentions in their advice. It is an undeniable fact that older people have been encountered different challenges and difficulties, and youngsters could get this knowledge without making the same mistakes. Secondly, if teenagers learn obedience by following established rules, they would progress faster in their education and career, since discipline is an essential characteristic of successful people.

However, there are several reasonable points on why teenagers tend to challenge old rules. Most importantly, life circumstances have been changed dramatically in the modern ages due to the advent of the internet and ground-breaking technologies. These changes make the values followed by older people obsolete, and teenagers forced to engage in new lifestyles and rules, which are suitable for the new situation. It is also worth mentioning that the rebellion phase and behaviors are very common in adolescents. Studies conducted by psychologists highlight that this phase is a part of the process of becoming an adult and not necessarily lead to dangerous behaviors.

In conclusion, although there are some advantages when teenagers follow the rules, I believe that these behaviors are natural, to some extent, and parents should be more tolerable during these ages.