Many high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 percent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women.

To what extent do you agree?

During last century, women have become essential part of workforce in society, with more than half of the employee in developing countries. However, commentators state that the gender-gap still existed at managerial role. As far as I concerned, gender-gap at top-level existed and companies should tackle this issue immediately, due to the following reasons.

First of all, by assigning women at top-level, firms could get benefit from diversified skill provided by female. It is an undeniable fact that each gender has different skills and by reducing gender-gap, firm could use another perspective, that could be neglected by only male managers. Furthermore, by putting ceiling in women career progress, they become less motivated. While differences between man and woman in academic or professional skills is insignificant nowadays, low ratio of women in top manager signals that achieving managerial position is impossible for women, leading to decrease in employee morale. Finally, gender-gap is not efficient for companies. High percentage of men in top position, despite the same ratio in workforce, implied that less-talented men get top-position. This inefficient method for companies could be stopped by assigning job only based on the merit of applicant, not gender.

Admittedly, opponents might mention that women do not have enough experience at top level and board members do not want to risk by assigning top-level job to less-experience applicant; however, this logic is faulty and unfair since women with the same-level of skill and education as man, deserve a chance to prove themselves.

In conclusion, while companies tend to assign only men to top-level position due to concern about in-earpiece of women at top-level job, this practice should be stopped since it is not practical and efficient for firms.