Many people believe that today there is a general increase in anti-social behavior Many people believe that today there is a general increase in anti-social behavior and lack of respect for others. What might have caused this situation? How to improve it?

One question that has caused a great concern over a decade is unsociable conduct along with degrading others. There are many reasons for this burning issue, however, if the government and society takes appropriate measures then this issue can be overcome.

Bad behaviour and disrespecting others can be caused by multifarious reasons. One of the major reason behind this problem is illiteracy. This illiterateness hampers the up-bringing of children which in turn results low self esteem and they indulge in bad habits. A perfect example to this cause is drug addicts, many teenagers grow up in bad atmosphere are ignorant about basic society culture and ethics and become antisocial. To add up the aforementioned cause, there is also social stress or peer pressure like inequality of income and unemployment.

Fortunately, there are ways by which this burning issue can be tackled. Firstly, “Education leads to edification”, measures to be taken by government to provide free basic education to children who belong to families who are categorised as below poverty line. Recently one of the fast developing country has started a policy called “educate the girl and save the girl” albeit it is good policy but it shouldn’t be gender biased. Further to this, government should also impose strict ban on drugs and alcohol. To support the statement, recently a state in India is declared as dry state that is alcohol free state. Along with the government, the society also has an equal role to play and overcome this situation, to begin living in joint family rather than following nuclear culture. Also, teaching children about the religion and cultural values.

To sum, although the serious causes leading to antisocial conduct and disrespecting others, consistent and collective measures by the government and society can solve it.