Many people believe that university students should study a full range of subjects, instead of some specific subjects.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this viewpoint?

Universities and Educational institutes are considered to be the citadel for building successful future. There are many denizens who believe that the university students should study a wide variety of subjects however, there are some who believe that only few and specific subjects must be taught. Whether the universities should include a wide range of subjects or few paramount subjects? This will be discussed further in this essay.

Colleges and universities should include subjects like sports, physical education, arts and so on in its curriculum, as, it will help the students to rid themselves from the constant pressure and will improve their performance, Furthermore, many jobs and companies want their employees to be talented in multiple aspects. For instance, a bank accountant who not only to has to expertise in field like accountancy, tax but should also have knowledge about communication, management, customer queries handling so that they can handle multiple administration obligations in the organisation. Through teaching a wide range of subjects to the disciple’s academic universities will help them to build a successful future, as, it will be both personally fulfilling and skill enhancing.

On the other hand, albeit, introducing a wide variety of subjects will expand the student experience but in the long run it will not benefit them. The universities ' main goal is to transmit to the students specialized cognizance and not to improve their general knowledge in order to gain good job opportunities relevant to their abilities. Making students needless stress to study all the topics irrelevant to their profession will be an obstacle to reaching their future goals. For instance, if it will be obligatory for medical students to learn subjects like management, communication, leadership which is not related to their course, it will not be beneficial to the them in any way. Moreover, the average universities have more than 30 departments, who are intended to specialise the students in determined expertness and not to make Jack of all trade only to provide mediocre professionals and besides it will be infeasible for the academic institutes to finish the entire course if irrelevant subjects are included.

To conclude, Universities main responsibility is to specialise the students in their specific fields and areas of their interest and should therefore include relevant subjects, whereas, by including wide variety of irrelevant subjects will detriment the meaning of the university education.