Many people prefer to rent a house rather than buying one. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of renting

The choice of accommodation that we live in depends on a number of factors as people are often faced with the choice of leasing or purchasing properties they intend to live in. While a good number of individuals choose to live in rented properties, others prefer to purchase. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of rented accommodation.

As long as renting is an alternative, many who do not have the finance to acquire often choose to rent, because of the advantage of saving. Occupants if leased apartments tend to save a good part of their income, which can be used for other capital intensive projects. A survey conducted in London on high income earners that live in rented apartments showed that after a number of years they would have saved enough money to acquire their own property and other things they need, such as cars and home furniture and fittings. In addition, occupants of leased accommodation such as newly wedded couples who are just starting their marital life do not have to bother about repairs of to the property. Such repairs are often expensive and time consuming. Many choose to live in rented houses due to affordability.

On the other hand, living in a leased or rented apartment means that it is temporary as the occupants will have to leave the facility at one point or the other. Home upgrades and customized designs, such as wall designs and other personal effects that cannot be moved or removed are forfeited, once the property is being vacated. Even though money can be saved by living in rented houses, the lease agreement is subject to review. Such reviews increase the cost of the facilities. An example of such can me be seen in high profile cities such as Paris, Dubai, and London.

In conclusion, despite the benefits of living in accommodations where you pay monthly or yearly, such as being able to save, proximity to the workplace and repairs are taken up by the landlord, conversely there are demerits also, as lease agreements could be reviewed upwards and rents increased. Customizations to the house might also not be removable.