More and more people are opting for ready-made food instead of freshly cooked food. Does this development have more advantages over disadvantages?

Recent trends suggest that there has been an increase in the number of people who choose fast food over home-cooked meals. This essay will argue that the drawbacks outweigh the advantages. Firstly, the reasons why people prefer these meals will be examined, followed by an analysis of the negative health challenges associated with consumption.

The major benefit of consuming ready-made food is the convenience associated with it. They are usually ready to serve and afford individuals who have very busy schedules to enjoy meals with no cooking effort involved. The day to day activities of the active population of most countries leaves them with little or no time to prepare decent meals, and as such they depend largely on such meals to feed. People no longer have the time to prepare freshly cooked meals as they are time consuming and require skills and effort. Furthermore, the cost is another primary advantage. Majority of the raw materials used in the preparation are subsidized by the government thereby making them cheaper than most alternatives. These are the major benefits people attribute to choosing to eat food not freshly made.

Despite the various reasons why people opt for such meals, it has been proven that consumption can lead to damages in the human body system. Junk food is one of the major causes of obesity. Carbohydrate and fat from these meals are retained in the body which in turn causes excessive increase in weight. These increases has led to several complications which could lead to death. Research has shown that junk food also causes cancer. Most preservatives and additives used in the preparation the meals are not beneficial to the consumer in any way as they often react in the body. Also, the human body requires a balanced diet in a bid to aid growth and function normally. Junk foods do not have the nutrients to ensure people live a normal and healthy life.

To conclude, it is clear that the development of people choosing fast food over ready-made meals has more disadvantages than benefits. Although it is easily accessible and does not require time to cook, there are health risks that it could lead to.