More and more people are opting for ready-made food instead of freshly cooked food. Does this development have more advantages over disadvantages?

Growing affluence has led people to consume more fast food and live sedentary life. This trend of pre-cooked meal is the quickest way to suffice the hunger but it is unhealthy and root cause of various diseases. However, cooking fresh food required time but it is a healthy diet. It is agreed that drawbacks of ready-made meal outweighs its benefits.

To start with, the popularity of instant food in increasing rapidly due to the reason that it is the fastest way to grab the meal and eat it. Admittedly, in this fast-paced world people have less time for cooking and household chores. According to a survey, on average working people have only two to three hours of quality time available after work which they usually prefer to spend it with family instead of cooking. This paradigm shift in approach led people to consume ready meals and has pushed them on verge on chronic illness such as diabetes, hypertension and heart diseases. Undoubtedly, these meals have unsaturated sugar and fat. Moreover, daily consumption is injurious to health. The recent empirical results of a study revealed that average age of people living in USA is just 50 years as compared to Pakistan which is 65. The underlying reason is higher consumption of ready meals in USA.

On contrary to this, fresh food is indeed a healthy option because of the fact that these foods contain less calories and therefore are not hazardous to health. The renowned dietician, Momal Asif in an interview said that fresh food is the healthy option and person consuming on daily basis have only 15% of chances to get diabetes and hypertension which is relatively low as compared to ready meal that is 75% however, this healthy option is a time consuming effort. In order to cook food on daily basis, individuals require almost two hours which is a challenge in hectic busy schedules.

To conclude, although both fresh food and ready meals have their own pros and cons but health is the major concern which is above all. Hence, the disadvantages due to ready-meals are far greater than its accessibility.