More and more people are opting for ready-made food instead of freshly cooked food. Does this development have more advantages over disadvantages?

Recent trends suggest that there has been an increase in the number of people who choose fast food over home-cooked meals. This essay will argue that the drawbacks outweigh the advantages. The essay will first establish that convenience and cost are the major benefits, followed by an analysis of the negative health challenges associated with consumption.

The major reason why we consume fast food is the convenience associated with it. They are usually ready to serve and afford individuals who have very busy schedules meals with no cooking effort involved. The day to day activities of the active population of most countries leaves them with little or no time to cook, and as such, they depend largely on such meals to feed. People no longer have the time to prepare decent delicacies as they are time-consuming and require skills and effort. Furthermore, cost is another primary advantage. Majority of the raw materials used in the preparation junk food are subsidized by the government thereby making them cheaper and preferable to most alternatives

Despite these reasons, it has been proven that consumption can lead to damages in the human body system. Eating junks is one of the major causes of obesity. Carbohydrate and fat are retained in the body which in turn causes an excessive increase in weight which has led to several complications or death. Research has also shown that such meals cause cancer. Preservatives and additives used in preparation are not beneficial to the consumer in any way as they often react in the body as the human body requires a balanced diet in a bid to aid growth and function normally

To conclude, it is clear that the development of people choosing to eat ready meals over home cooked meals has more disadvantages than benefits. Although it is easily accessible and does not require time to cook, there are health risks that it could lead to.