Some people think watching movies is a waste of time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There a number of ways to spend ones leisure time, while a number of people believe that watching movies is a waste of time and other activities should be carried out instead, I would argue that it fosters social interaction amongst people.

To begin with, there are some who think that the time spent watching movies should be channeled towards other developmental activities. A good Example of such an activity includes learning a new skill or pursuing a professional qualification which can improve a person’s earnings and lead to promotion at work. Also, they believe that these periods should be used for other physical activities other than watching a motion picture. For instance workout and training sessions are preferable to hanging out at the cinema. These group of people aim to get tangible value for their time.

However, there are a number of reasons why watching movies is beneficial. Firstly, it promotes social interaction. The lifestyle of most people allows for very little time for bonding with families, friends or colleagues due to the busy work schedule. A night at the cinema allows for people to interact which creates intimacy and face to face discussions. Secondly, it is an entertaining time that allows people to take their minds of work another pressing issues. The ambience of the cinemas creates an atmosphere for relaxation while watching the latest block buster. These benefits can improve relationships and help people relax.

In conclusion, although it is believed that seeing a movie is an activity that is futile as the time can be used for other productive activities such as gaining new skills or working out, I believe seeing a movie is often beneficial as it fosters bonding and face to face interaction. More and more people should make out time to visit the cinemas with acquaintances.