Many people think it is important to spend a lot of money on a large wedding celebration. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your opinion and give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge and experience.

According to some people spending a lot of money on marriage parties is a must. Others insist that lavish celebrations are a waste of money and resources. Both views will be discussed in this essay; however, in my opinion, it does not make much sense to spend a lot of money on celebrations.

Celebrations make our lives more interesting. Also, lavish parties are an opportunity to show off our wealth. Actually, this is the reason many people choose to spend inordinate amounts of money on weddings. They believe that throwing a lavish wedding party will easily elevate their social standing. My uncle, for example, makes it a point to celebrate the weddings of his children in a lavish manner. He believes that those parties will earn him the respect of his friends and acquaintances.

On the other hand, there is a downside to throwing large wedding parties. Oftentimes families borrow money to celebrate the wedding of their son or daughter in a grand style. They may have seen their neighbour hold an expensive party on the occasion of his daughter’s marriage. Now, they feel compelled to have an even bigger party. This is not exactly a problem if they can afford it but that is not always the case. Many families fall into the debt trap in their desperation to hold a grand wedding that their friends will remember for good. Also, large parties often lead to the wastage of enormous amounts of foods and beverages.

Personally, I believe that instead of throwing ridiculously expensive parties, people should organize more intimate and simpler celebrations. Wedding celebrations are an opportunity to share our joy with our friends and relatives and small parties serve the purpose very well. Actually, spending large amounts on parties is a sign of vanity. And if this money is borrowed it is nothing but stupidity. Instead, people who truly want an unforgettable wedding should donate a sum of money to the disadvantaged sections of the society on this occasion. This way they can ensure that their celebrations bring joy to a lot of people who need it desperately.

To conclude, wedding celebrations are important because in most people’s lives they occur only once; however, it is foolish to spend astronomical amounts of money on these celebrations. Instead, people who have excess money should consider donating some to the poor and the needy.