Some say that people living in high-rise apartments are lonely and unhappy, while others say that it’s advantageous to stay in high-rise apartments. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, more and more high-rise buildings have sprung up in city metropolis. High-rise living is assumed by some people to be bad since the apartments cause people to feel lonely and unhappy. However, others believes such buildings have many merits. This essay will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of such apartments.

People who live in high-rise apartments tend to feel lonely. They find it difficult to maintain an enduring relationship with each other, because most of them only rent apartments and move around a lot. They hardly communicate with neighbors, so the sense of belongings is absent among these residents. When they encounter problems in life, they feel helpless and depressed. Moreover, high-rise apartments are normally in heavily populated urban areas and people may live in cramped conditions. For instance, there is no adequate space such as private backyards and playgrounds for holding parties. People are more likely to live a reclusive life. This is less likely to happen in low-density neighborhoods.

On the positive side, living in high-rise apartments allow people to do some leisure activities with their friends because there are a lot of recreational facilities in the city center. For example, residents find it easier to go some gyms and clubs nearby with their friends. This can enrich their social life and give them a sense of happiness.

In conclusion, high-rise apartments have some demerits such as loneliness. However, it provides a convenient lifestyle and high living standards, which I believe is much more important for most of people.