Many people prefer to travel by car rather than buses or trains.

Why do you think this happens?

What can government do to motivate people travel by buses or trains?

Countless number of individuals feel comfortable to move here and there by cars instead of public modes of transportation. In my opinion, reliability and comfort are the main reasons for using private automobiles. The government could ensure the availability of buses and trains to encourage people to use it.

The key reasons to use personal vehicle is that it is more reliable and more comfortable than any other options of transport. Citizens of many countries generally face a lot of problems to have a reliable civic transportation. In the developing countries like India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, it is so difficult to get on the communal bus in the office hours. Not only are the buses full of people but also trains are crowded as well. I feel that considering these situations a solvent person never wants to use buses and trains. Instead, they will prefer to have a car which will help them to reach in their respective destination in time comfortably. Above all, there are many possible reasons to own a car.

The government of a country can play a significant role to draw attention of the mass people to use community transportation by ensuring the sufficient number of buses and trains in the peak hours. In the morning, for example, when the majority of people travel for work, the government might identify the major destinations of these commuters and according to that it can increase the number of buses and trains bound to those places. In addition, the authority can announce yearly income tax fee rebate for the users. So I think mentioned steps could be taken by government to create interest among people to use bus and train.

In conclusion, although I think that wealthy and solvent people are very keen to have a personal mobility for dependability and luxury, the government would be able to change the scenario by taking initiatives like income tax discount and guaranteed availability of public transportations in the rush hours.