In some countries, using the internet in school is getting popular. Is it positive or negative development?

The internet has revolutionised the manner in which information is retrieved. I strongly believe that excessive dependency on the internet can have negative implications on the pupils. This will be shown by looking at how immense exposure to the web can affect the social development and the concentration level of the students.

For one, it is true that the content available on the website is difficult to monitor. This is due to the fact that it is impossible to filter out the matter based on the age of the person accessing it. For instance, there are some videos on the YouTube which are inappropriate for the people under 18 yet can be easily viewed by them just by declaring wrong age on the warning messages displayed. Such videos can have a negative impact on the young mind and thereby can afflict their social behaviour.

In addition, data is easily available on the net with a single search of the keyword. This benefit lures most of the students to prefer studying on the internet instead of the conventional books. A good illustration for this is the google search engine which is the most used tool for obtaining the data. Utilisation of such tools on the daily basis motivates young people to minimise the usage of books and hence, they become used to getting information quickly. However, this hampers the searchability of the young people as well as lowers their attention level.

As seen from above, inordinate usage of the internet can have negative ramifications on the child's development. Thus, it is expected that the educational institutions will put efforts to minimise the internet use.