Many people say smoking should be banned and some say it is not a good idea. What is your opinion on this?

People have different opinions about imposing restriction on smoking as some people believe that smoking should be totally banned while others disagree with it. The following essay will discuss about both opinions in details followed by my own opinion and a rational conclusion.

On the one hand, it is understandable if several people dislike the controversial idea that smoking should be banned in all places. Firstly, they believe that everybody have their own right in doing things they like. Smoking is a preference and It is up to the individual themselves whether they would like to smoke or not. Secondly, prohibiting smoking will also affect the economic condition as cigarette factories absorb so many employments. If smoking is totally banned then many of the factories will be closed and will result a high unemployment rate. Finally, the high amount of tax the government collects from the tobacco industries will no longer be available as well.

On the other hand, it is a fact that smoking has many negative effects for the smokers themselves. Based on the researches of some experts, smoking has become the main trigger to some serious diseases, such as lung cancer and heart attack. Besides that, smoking would also have a serious threat for the passive smokers. People who do not smoke but inhale the smoke of active smokers will also have a risk of lung cancer as well. Therefore, many people think that smoking should be totally banned, as it could have a serious effect to both the active and passive smokers.

In my opinion, I personally support the idea that smoking should be totally banned in all places because smoking is dangerous for our health. But before executing the idea, the government must have an alternative plan for the employees of the cigarettes factories because they might be unemployed. The government could expand and developed a new industry therefore these employees could be allocated to the new area.