There are more cars on the roads these days and more accidents are happening. As a result, some politicians have suggested that people should take regular driving tests throughout their lives, rather than one single test. What do you think are the advantages of repeat driving tests? Do these outweigh the disadvantages?

In most of the countries, people take a driving test before they are awarded the driving licence and renewal of driving licence does not require the person to retake the test. Some politicians, however, suggest that repetitive test should replace the 'test once in a lifetime' policy. Undeniably, the proposed policy has some advantages but the drawbacks are far greater.

To begin with, the recursive driving test seems like a solution to the increasing driving offence but in reality, people's carelessness, violation of traffic rules and driving under the influence are the main causes for most of the accidents. Therefore the authorities should spend more money and manpower for ensuring road safety than retesting driver's ability. It is a scientific fact that adept drivers are less likely to forget their driving skill unless they get physically unfit. Considering this, the authority should update the drivers about the changes of traffic rules, not test their ability to drive a vehicle. Moreover, strict punishment and penalty should be imposed for the traffic rule violation.

Furthermore, a periodic driving test would kill people's money, time and energy on the one hand and drain the government's budget on the other hand. According to a recent report, new applicants have to wait for several weeks to get a driving licence due to the insufficient facility and manpower. Having the repetitive driving skill test would thus make this far worse.

To conclude, rather than questing people's ability to remember how to drive, strict policies and road safety should get priority. Driver's should be educated not tested on their ability to drive a car as this proposed policy would add burden both to the ordinary people and the authority.