There are more cars on the roads these days and more accidents are happening. As a result, some politicians have suggested that people should take regular driving tests throughout their lives, rather than one single test. What do you think are the advantages of repeat driving tests? Do these outweigh the disadvantages?

The growing number of cars and reckless driving are the major causes of increasing road accidents these days. Therefore, some people, as well as some politicians, express their view that repetitive driving tests, not just once to get the licence, should be in place. This essay presents my views in favour of the continuous testing process for driving with some appropriate reasons and examples.

The road safety in a country is a major concern and so is the obligation of politicians regarding this. This is because increasing vehicular movements can cause more accidents on the roads. Additionally, drivers, on the other hand, get outdated to incorporate with road rules accurately. For example, they may not be able to see the traffic signals and road signs easily when they get older. As a result, such drivers may potentially hit other moving vehicles and the people. Therefore, the repeat tests for driving, from time to time, will definitely improve the driving accuracy of people. Moreover, in many countries young drivers often do not abide by the traffic rules and having continuous tests would ensure their awareness in safe driving. Finally, when people will have to take driving tests periodically, they will less likely violate any traffic rule.

However, the multiple tests for driving in our lifetime may unnecessarily impose a burden. This is because we have to prepare for the test in order to renew the licence. Additionally, we will have to pay the exam fees every time which is considered an unwanted expense by many. As a result, many of us may tend to avoid the tests and this will lead to a situation that one day we will get pulled over and fined for an outdated licence. Therefore, continuous tests may not solve the raised issue easily while the drivers will always be under a pressure.

In conclusion, as reoccurring tests improve our driving accuracy, the benefits of such test surpass the drawbacks.