Many people think that some individuals are naturally good leader. Others think that people can learn leadership skills. Discuss both views.

It is crucial for an individual to posses leadership skills in modern world. A large number of people argue that leadership comes naturally to few, while rest of them think is a skill that can be learnt during the course of life. This essay will discuss how leadership skills are instilled among individuals from centuries along with how and why some individuals are considered a born leaders including examples to support my views.

There is ample evidence indicating that leadership is considered and belief that leaders are born and not made. The primary reason for this thought is exhibition of leadership skills by some individuals from a very young age. Without any understanding of what being a leader means , few kids act on their instincts which are deemed to be traits of an effective leader. Furthermore, the character of an individual during adversity is what separates a captain from others. For instance, during a football match, a 9 year old Steve Buckner, from Boston Football team has motivated his team to win by coming from behind against a superior team in the finale. Therefore it is possible to state that leadership is a natural phenomenon in people

Although required qualities of a leader seems to be inborn, the effect of external forces in molding an individual into leader cannot be understated. In the past, heirs of a kingdom are trained from a very young age in skills required to become the next king. Following the tradition, many institutions have propped up in modern day advocating the necessity of leadership in real life and at the same time marketing the idea of becoming a good leader by following certain set of rules and theories. To illustrate this, an Oxford University research states that there was a 200% increase of enrollment in the leadership program across the globe in past 5 years. Thus it is conclusively clear that it is believed by many that leadership is a science which can be learnt from the experts.

In conclusion, the debate of whether leadership is an inbuilt trait in individuals or a skill which can be perfected by following certain theories is never ending.