Many people think that students should be allowed to choose the subjects that they study in school, whereas others feel that they should study a set curriculum. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In modern times, getting a good education has been increasingly important. While it can be argued that all students should study a prescribed syllabus, another opinion is that students should decide which subjects they wish to study at school. In this essay, I will examine both sides of this argument and provide my overall opinion.

Generally speaking, there are a variety of reasons why people believe that students should choose what they want to study. Perhaps the main reason why people are in favor of this idea is that students will be more interested in the coursework if they have chosen it themselves. If a student is interested in a particular subject, they are more likely to do well in it. However, if a student is studying a subject which they hate, they will probably become bored, unmotivated and even depressed. This would in all likelihood lead to underperformance in that subject.

Secondly, a set syllabus may lead to disruption in the classroom. Students who are studying something they do not enjoy may disturb their classmates and teacher. Therefore, the decision as to whether students should choose their own subjects must be taken in the context of the whole classroom.

Despite these arguments, there is also a case for the idea that students should not be allowed to choose what they want to study. Perhaps the main argument against this idea is that some subjects need to be studied whether or not a student is interested in them. For example, if a person cannot read or do basic mathematics, they will struggle to survive in modern society. They will not be able to manage their finances, to deal with legal issues such as contracts, or to become computer literate.

In conclusion, this is a topic that raises strong passions on both sides of the argument. My personal view is that students should be allowed some control over their choice of subjects because this would encourage them to be more independent in their studies and they would enjoy their lessons more. However, the more essential subjects should be compulsory to ensure that students can go on to be productive, prosperous and happy members of society.