Many people today find that the cost of attaining a University-level education is extremely high for the students and their families. What are the causes of this situation, and how can governments, Universities and the students themselves overcome the problem?

Nowadays, bearing the expenses of gaining a university degree can be a huge financial burden for both students and families in a way that an overwhelming majority of them are struggling to deal with. Even though there are various reasons contributing to this controversy, namely diverting the chief role of universities and deteriorating living standards, appropriate measures can be taken to address the issue successfully.

To begin with causes, one factor which has led to this trouble appears to be owing to distorting the primary aim of educational centers from education-oriented institutions to those of income-based ones, leading to impose high tuition fees on students and families. The increasing number of private universities is an obvious illustration of this trend. In addition, the rapidly growing cost of living seems to be another underlying reason which in turn takes its toll on the growth of education expenses. A third factor could be difficulties in finding a decent part-time job while a student is studying. Because most of these occupations tend to be poorly-paid and extremely time-taking.

Turning to possible solutions, apparently, a key remedy to this situation would be in the hands of governments; to put it simply, if this problem is expected to be tackled, not only do governments need to make a change in their policies towards education, but they are also required to enhance the universities' subsidy. By doing this, a great deal of expenditure would be on the shoulders of governments which is a great help to families. A further step might be for universities to find an extra source of income to make up for their costs, such as branching out into industrial projects. Last but not least, for many students, it would be more logical if they attended university when they could afford most of their education expenditure.

To conclude, in spite of numerous challenges which prohibitive cost of universities poses, they are highly likely to be handled by taking suitable steps, including financing universities adequately, breaking into the industry with the aim of seeking another way of earnings, as well as providing students with a suitable part-time work.