Many people today use their phones for sending texts more than talking. What are the reasons for this. Are there more advantages than disadvantages?

<span id="docs-internal-guid-e5fd62a6-7fff-3422-08f5-afe433303f51"><p dir="ltr" style="line-height:1.38;margin-top:0pt;margin-bottom:0pt;"><span style="font-size: 14pt; font-family: "Times New Roman"; color: rgb(0, 0, 0); background-color: transparent; font-style: italic; font-variant-numeric: normal; font-variant-east-asian: normal; vertical-align: baseline;">The use of technology has increased tremendously over the last two decades. Technology has changed the way people communicate nowadays. It’s believed that a large number of people prefer texting with their phones than talking. The pros outweigh the disadvantages and this essay will discuss the reasons why phone users have chosen texting over talking.</span></p><br><p dir="ltr" style="line-height:1.38;margin-top:0pt;margin-bottom:0pt;"><span style="font-size: 14pt; font-family: "Times New Roman"; color: rgb(0, 0, 0); background-color: transparent; font-style: italic; font-variant-numeric: normal; font-variant-east-asian: normal; vertical-align: baseline;">Firstly, one of the major reasons why people have adopted phone texting is because of its affordability. Take for instance, the amount incur when sending a one-page text message is less than the amount charged for one minute call. MTN communications, which is one of the biggest telecommunication industries in Africa, charges N4 per sms whereas, one minute call costs about N25. It's more advantageous to send a text rather than calling to save cost.</span></p><br><p dir="ltr" style="line-height:1.38;margin-top:0pt;margin-bottom:0pt;"><span style="font-size: 14pt; font-family: "Times New Roman"; color: rgb(0, 0, 0); background-color: transparent; font-style: italic; font-variant-numeric: normal; font-variant-east-asian: normal; vertical-align: baseline;">Secondly, it's more convenient to text than talking. These days, everyone seems to be busy with one thing or the other and calling could distract and cause people to lose concentration especially at work or school. For example, a student who’s preparing for his exams would prefer text messages to calls. This will enable him to give all his attention to his book and reply messages much later. Again, the cons of utilizing phone texting cannot be overemphasized.</span></p><br><p dir="ltr" style="line-height:1.38;margin-top:0pt;margin-bottom:0pt;"><span style="font-size: 14pt; font-family: "Times New Roman"; color: rgb(0, 0, 0); background-color: transparent; font-style: italic; font-variant-numeric: normal; font-variant-east-asian: normal; vertical-align: baseline;">In conclusion, it’s evident that phone texting is more advantageous than calls. Although, some people still make calls with their phones, the number of people using phone texting nowadays is more than those that prefer calling as shown in the above examples.</span></p><div><span style="font-size: 14pt; font-family: "Times New Roman"; color: rgb(0, 0, 0); background-color: transparent; font-style: italic; font-variant-numeric: normal; font-variant-east-asian: normal; vertical-align: baseline;"><br></span></div></span>