Many people today use their phones for sending texts more than talking. What are the reasons for this? Are there more advantages than disadvantages?

Today utilisation of smartphones for texting and messaging has become more popular than for talking. There are a few noticeable reasons for this development. However, disadvantages of this trend overweight its benefits.

First of all, modern times force people to be concerned about spending their time efficiently. Fast pace of life, busy work hours do not let people have proper conversations with their relatives, friends and co-workers by phone. Therefore, convenient method of communication, such as messaging, has become so popular nowadays. Sending a message, checking a messenger, answering with a picture require less efforts and time than talking by phone. In addition, text messages are cheaper than phone calls. Almost all mobile companies provide their customers with an unlimited Internet connection and give a free package of text messages. Indeed, convenience and low prise of messaging have changed the way of people's communication.

Nevertheless, a widespread distribution of messengers has a few serious drawbacks. Firstly, people tend to use short words, slang or symbols in their texts and this can lead to poor language among the youngsters. Secondly, messages cannot show sender's emotions or attitudes so this can cause some misunderstanding and following relationship problems. Finally, it is believed that chatting through messengers and social media limit people interactions and can make them isolated from family members and friends. In fact, this modern trend has more disadvantages than advantages.

In conclusion, although messengers allow people to chat faster, cheaper and more efficient than though phone calls, this improvement has some negative effects on the society, such as poor quality of language, individual's isolation and loneliness.