Many people like to wear fashionable clothes. Why do you think this is the case? Is this a good thing or a bad thing?

I am in favour of fashionable clothes and strongly believe that it is a good thing. Fashion has been in existence since the times when humans decided to clothe themselves. Initially, it was more in terms of protection and comfort with respect to climatic conditions. Over time, it was one of the ways in which the elite distinguished themselves from the common man.

Today, fashion is an expression of a person’s cultural, religious, and social identity. We can identify the socio-economic background of a person based on their fashion style. Various global brands have benefited financially by specifically targeting certain demographics. Fashion has become a statement for individuals and expresses your inner self.

Over time, fashion styles of individuals in certain roles have created stereotypes. For example, the US President is expected to wear a dark blue suit as the President of the United States of America is supposed to represent power. There was a big debate on social media when President Obama wore a beige suit at a Press conference in the initial period of his first term.

To me, fashion is about using your clothes to stand out from a crowd. I want my fashion style to depict that I am chic, in tune with the latest trends. To me fashion is a business tool that enables me to create a positive influence on my clients, especially as I transact more with high-net-worth individuals.

To conclude, fashion is a good thing, if you can use it to your advantage, either to leverage your business or upscale your self-esteem.