Many people like to wear fashionable clothes. Why do you think this is the case? Is this a good thing or a bad thing?

Nowadays, fashion is defined as a trend that is dynamic, favored for frivolous rather than the practical reason. People associate value, social status and hence consciousness to being fashionable is gaining importance with the masses. In my opinion, fashion is essential in highlighting ones’ individuality but evaluating the true product value is important in limiting spends. This essay will discuss my view point with examples in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, clothing for current generation is not mere covering for protection, it is a necessity that dictates an individual’s social status. Most people perceive it as a tool for enhancing appearance, to gain the status symbol respect. Today, even for a leisure activity such as walking, people wear a Nike or Adidas even though a non-branded sportswear is functionally apt. This behavioral shift of wanting to wear to belong in the societal hierarchy is leading masses to misery, developing a generation of materialistic spendthrifts.

Secondly, the shelf life of clothes is short-lived, fashion is rapidly changing, becomes obsolete within a year. In addition, the brands factor all their expenses into the product price making it very expensive. Take for instant an unbranded leather jacket cost less than $60/- and a Fendi or Louis Vuitton would be priced at $5,000/-. Paying such exorbitant price for luxury products that are equally subjected to wear and tear with a rapid risk of obsoleteness is not justified. This is digging deeper into the consumers’ pockets, increasing pressure to earn more.

In conclusion, fashion is an inevitable movement in modern societies and people will continue their pursuit to be fashion savvy. I believe, it is important to look good, clothing is an essential fashion element, but individuals should have a balanced outlook. People should prioritize the needs over the wants, focus on wise spending rather than becoming a fashion slave.