Some people believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Today, the study of foreign languages is prevalent in school curriculums worldwide. However, the age at which a non-native language should be introduced is often debatable. Whether it should be first taught in primary or secondary school will be analyzed in the following paragraphs and will prove on why one group is better than the other.

Scientific studies document that young minds who are bilingual tends to learn faster and have greater problem-solving abilities. In addition, it makes primary kids more open-minded to other cultures and tolerant of diversity. For instance, kids aged 7 plus have massive memory and hence can recall vocabulary in a second language to communicate effortlessly. Therefore, the language acquisition can be accelerated if introduced to primary children and its benefits are undeniable.

Despite these advantages, language learning directly exposes its learners to foreign custom and traditions. This could interfere with a young mind understanding of their own culture, a problem not apparent in more mature secondary students. Although this is concerning, local educational authorities can review and vet contents prior to releasing at primary level and preserve cultural erosion. Thus, delaying the introduction will only make second language a challenge to acquire later.

In conclusion, it is evident that learning a foreign language at primary level is more effective than learnt at secondary. If governments across the world encourages the introduction of a second language by grade 1, the opportunities for multilingual individuals would be limitless and borderless.