In many places, new homes are needed, but only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe that it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there.

What is your opinion about this?

Due to rapid urbanization in last couple of decades more and more people are moving to the cities. Owing to this fact cities are running out of space and expanding their boundaries to fulfil the demand of new homes. Growing number of people assert that we should preserve countryside by not constructing new buildings there. This essay will assess different views and try to draw some opinion.

One of the major argument is, if we start converting green lands to the concrete buildings, it will make an adverse impact on our environment. Consequently, this will reduce the land which is being used for vegetation and agriculture. Another major drawback of building suburbs would be more time in commuting to work which might lead to stress and lower work-life balance.

Turning to the other side, not building houses outside will lead to dearth of the land for building new homes. As a result, municipal will be compelled to build high-rise building which lead to higher population density. Moreover, this will add to more traffic congestion and shoot up the real estate prices which will worsen the livability index of cities. A solution is to government to create more job opportunities in the rural areas to lower the need of the more houses in the cities. Although it is very long term process, there are very few alternatives government have.

In conclusion, it's highly unlikely that current availability of the land in the city can accommodate the new requirement. In my opinion, though I agree that there are environmental impacts on utilising the country side space, building high-rises can't solve this issue. However, municipal should appoint special people for town planning for new areas, who will work to nullify the ill-effects on environment.