In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there.

What is your opinion about this?

With a dramatic increase in population in many cities, the need for new homes has risen. Due to limited space in megacities, there has been an increase in trend of constructing houses in countryside. However, some people who support the protection of countryside are having pressing reasons against this construction. This essay will analyze both pros and cons of building new homes in rural areas. Following this, a reasoned conclusion will be shared.

Opponents of urbanization of rural places have the notion that the natural eco system of these places will get destroyed. Recently in Hyderabad, construction of housing board colonies, roads and other infrastructure to support the housing has lead to devastation of thousands of hectares of plantation in the outskirts of the city, exemplifying the drastic effects of such constructions on our environment. This destruction has a great contribution towards the hotly discussed situation of global warming. Thus, the environmentalists have strong reasons for opposing the urbanization in order to protect the environment from deteriorating further.

While on the other hand, as there is no space available in metro cities, constructing home dwellings at city outskirts seems sensible. A recent survey by Times Magazine has shown that there has been an imbalance in number of people migrating from rural places to urban cities in search of better lifestyle. Providing the same set of facilities in countryside will definitely curb this migration as people will not rush to cities for better living styles. This in turn means that problems of traffic, pollution and scarcity of resources will automatically get curtailed.

Following the above look at advantages and disadvantages of countryside construction, it is felt that the need of the hour is to construct new houses in rural areas. However, it is hoped that the construction companies maintain a balance between the urbanization and natural habitat by reserving a portion of land for parks and small forests.