There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many people believe that other measurements will be needed. Discuss both sides.

A sharp rise has been witnessed in the numbers of severe crimes being committed every year. It is considered by some that death sentence is the key to curb this menace, while there are others who believe that it is better to have alternative measures to reduce crime rate. This essay will analyze both points of view of this argument.

On the one hand, many think that deterrence is the best way to refrain people from committing serious offences and death penalty seems to be the most effective deterrent to crime. In the other words, capital punishment creates a fear among offenders as their single act could lead to a loss of their own lives compounded with the destitution of their family members. Take, for instance, Saudi Arabia where the law of death penalty has actually reduced the numbers of misconduct. Thus, supporters of this notion of death warrant have their point proved strong.

However, death penalty is not the only measure to discourage people from indulging in crimes. Intensity of the crime and conditions which force one to offend are also critical while taking a legal action against someone. For example, theft of bread in a bakery and burglary in the bank could not be treated in the same way. Moreover, lack of rehabilitation centers and employment opportunities are key issues in rising crime incidents. Therefore, government should resort to establishing infrastructure and other facilities that will cater the needs of unemployed youth and offenders, giving them constructive earning opportunities and refraining from illegal means of living. Hence, executing the wrongdoers is against the moral values of the society.

In conclusion, certain criminals repeating grave offences may be given death sentence, however moral ways of counseling and rehabilitation of the offenders will prove to be more beneficial for the whole society.