In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there.

What is your opinion about this?

In the first half of the twenty first century, many cities, megalopolises in particular, have witnessed burgeoning rate of population growth and a requirement for development, as a result. While construction of new homes in the countryside is mainly suggested, some refuted this notion, opining that this approach would have adverse implications on environment.

Urbanization, invariably, is a viable response to the insatiable urge of today industrialization. To cater for this demand, constructing new buildings are positively felt in a myriad of cities, either in their centers or in non-urban parts, in some cases. In a number of metropolitans like Tehran, as a salient instance, establishing extra residential areas is logically feasible in the close countryside, due to the bereft of appropriate settings inside the center and more affordable budget to reside in outer zones. The imposing effects of this trend to the society, however, should not be abandoned unnoticed.

Opponents of adding new buildings to the undisturbed environment, on the other hand, are concerned about the devastating influences of unchecked city expansion might have on the ecosystem of a region. Construction of new projects, as they perceive, means that civil infrastructures including roads, pipelines, etc. are required and those may spoil the landscape. Not similar to this notion, however, are eco-friendly extended conurbations in Australia, which not only have provided the necessity to join the global trend for urbanization, but also have a profound contribution to the sustainable betterment of the whole country.

In way of conclusion, although some negative ramifications of building new homes in the countryside could be thought of, more beneficial impacts for a city are to be deemed, unless sustainable development is taken into account.