Nowadays more and more people are spending less time at home.

Why do you think it happens?

What effect does this have on individuals and the society?

In the first half of the twenty first century, despite a fair amount of outstanding developments in people’s lifestyle comparing to that of past decades, it seems that their attendance at home has declined surprisingly. Perhaps the need to work for long hours, as a main culprit, is appropriately linked to this phenomenon.

People’s insatiable urge to reside and flourish in well-developed cities may be the key explanation why they are earnest to move to large conurbations. In this way, living in megalopolises like Tehran, for instance, means that not only do they should be tenacious and strong-willed to fulfill that ambition, but also they need to work for long hours than a standard amount. Being responsible for the expenses of their home, parents also have to work more severely, in some cases at weekends, to make up the exorbitant cost of living. No wonder, then, they are less present at home, spending time with their children or family members.

Considering the aforementioned repercussion, is has dire consequences both on individuals and the society in the large picture. For one thing, working for long hours puts a heavy strain on job holders and culminates in a wide assortment of predicaments including family-work conflicts, psychological hindrances and mental disorders. For another thing, although it may seem that the more you work, the better you are engaged with your company, it can stimulate less enthusiasm in employees and lead to regular job turnover and truancy, which is unmistakably an adverse ramification for their organizations. Society as a whole, ultimately, witnesses a less collaboratively compassionate demeanor of its members, if they are less attendant at home at spend time with their family members as a tinier group.

In way of conclusion, working for a great deal of time in order to stave off the gravity of financial difficulties one has encountered living in a metropolitan community, is deemed to be a prominent rationale behind not spending ample time at home. This, hence, has brought about subsequent drawbacks including work-family impedance for individuals along with mental disturbance and less productive tendency to be well-engaged to the society in the large picture.