In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in countryside. some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there.

What is your opinion about this?

In today's world people are relocating from towns and villages to cities for better opportunities and better life. This has caused an exponential growth in city population. High population has raised the demand of accommodation which in turn is causing the expansion of the city.

Every major cities in world has expanded approximately twice the actual size in last decade. Space crunches in city is now a major issue as nearby farmlands are now getting converted into residential area. From the historic time, the cities were developed majorly in river banks or near water sources, current expansion of cities are causing water scarce. Besides infrastructure issues there is a major issue of destruction of forests near cities. Countryside were always known for their beautiful vicinity filled with trees, parks and open spaces. building high rises in countryside is not only occupying the free space but also turning it into a cement city with no trees, parks or open space.

If deforestation is the only issue we are facing while converting the countryside to city? No, we are also hampering the natural habitat of many animals. There are many animals and birds which are on edge of extinction. Sparrow is one of those birds which are affected by it. In the city I live in, there is a drastic drop in sparrow count. One of the research mentioned that there are more than ten species getting affected by expansion of cities.

I believe it is important to understand the priority to protect countryside. It is important to plan the city layout properly without hampering vicinity. If the necessary actions are not taken immediately then the future generation will never know the existence of beautiful countryside.