Many researchers believe that we can now study the behaviour of children to see if they will grow up to be criminals, while others disagree.

To what extent do you think crime is determined by genetics?

Is it possible to stop children from growing up to be criminals?

While it is believed by a few researchers that studying children’s behaviour helps to predict whether or not they will commit crimes when they grow up, some do not agree with this viewpoint. In my opinion, the casuation of crime is not related to gene and DNA rather attributed to poverty and environment. Many steps can be taken to deter children from turning into offenders in their adult life.

For on thing, we should remember that genes of people does not compel them to offend. If this was the case, every miscreant’s children would be akin to them. I think the primary factor why people commit crimes is the situation in which people live. Historically, people from poverty-stricken areas are more prone to commiting crimes because they do not have legitimate jobs that enables them finanical stability. Another major reason is surroundings. People residing in areas where crimes take place on daily basis seems to make people fearless towards crimes. They feel the act of perpetration is justified and normal since everyone around them is involved in some or many kinds of law-breaking activities. By getting influenced from such criminals people participate in breaking laws.

Children can be molded into law-abiding citizens as they are still in an impressionable age. The first measure ought to be taken by government to ensure that every children is provided with free and quality education, irrespective of their family background. This will ensure that they become an erudite adult and have job security, so they can rise from poverty. Having a proper job to meet the necessities of lives will act as a deterrent to crime. Secondly, children’s whose parents have criminal records should be under social service supervision. Having a regular check-up will help to keep a tab on them so they do not go astray. This will result in children growing up in safe and protected environment where no one can force them to follow the path of their parents. The more the support from government agencies, the safer the juvenile can be brought up.

In conclusion, the main causes of crime are destitue conditions and abysmal environment. However, counter-measures such as education and survelliance of children will possibly ensure that they are safe and do not grow up to be criminals. In my view, the government plays a major role in tackling this problem of delinquencies.