Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is an incredibly common belief that clothes maketh a man. Some assert the possibility of knowing an individual’s culture as well as personality from the clothes they choose to wear. While some people would argue that not all judgements can be perfect, in my opinion, it is possible to arrive at some conclusion about the person’s background by looking at their attire. This essay will elucidate points to support my perspective in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, people’s clothes speak a lot about their culture since it is easy to identify which culture they belong to. For instance, Sari is a traditional women’s dress from India. When a woman wears a sari, we know she belongs to India. Secondly, a well-dressed man in a suit and tie is perceived as an erudite person. Immaculate clothes are usually a sign of a person being intelligent, smart and well-mannered. People talk with them, showing respect and politeness. Also, rich people often wear expensive branded clothes since they can afford it. Conversely, a shabby-dressed person may appear to be less educated or impolite in nature. If a person wears old, torn, or dirty clothes, they may be considered to be homeless or impoverished. Lastly, the style of clothing projects what kind of a person they may be. For instance, introverts may like to be dressed in subtle colors, whereas extroverts may prefer bright colors and a party wardrobe.

However, some people feel that one cannot be judged based on their clothes. Not all wealthy people wear exquisite labelled clothes. For instance, Mark Zuckerberg and Bill Gates. Although they can afford to buy them, they dress themselves like laymen. Another contrast idea is that people from different cultures may choose to wear clothes from another culture because of fashion. For example, an American woman may want to wear a sari to work simply because she is fond of the design. This does not mean that she is Indian. So, people may wear clothes they love, and, therefore, clothes do not reflect their true nature.

While some people have contradicting opinions due to some exceptions, from my perspective, clothes definitely define a person’s identity and potrays the culture they hail from. Various clothes from all over the world are a symbol of bio-diversity, and people’s characteristics can be seen from their clothes.