Many small, local shops are closing at they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area. How does this effect local communities? How could this situation be improved?

Increasing the popularity of the malls creates a competitive market for the local shops and some of the shops are shutting down without able to withstand the competition. Normally, the big supermarkets have a huge financial background that they can knock out any of the small shops from the market. In this essay, the consequences of the decrease in the number of convenient stores and solutions for protecting the local stores will be explained.

Firstly, the closing of locals shops which results in the jobless citizens, is not a positive improvement for our society. As the number of jobless citizens increases, there will have a decrease in number of taxpayers which will, in turn, affect the economics of a country. Furthermore, since the market is solely controlled by the supermarkets, they can monopolize the price of the product and the society will suffer from it.

There are two methods to support locally based stores, an important part of society, with the help of governments. First of all, authorities should implement a tax scheme for companies with different incomes to balance the competition. Moreover, the government can also encourage the banks to promote a special loan scheme for local shops as a long-term financial support so that supermarkets cannot easily eliminate the local stores.

To conclude, although the popularity of supermarkets cannot be denied, local small convenient stores are still playing an important role for society. Therefore, the government need to protect them by creating a tax scheme and special loan scheme for a balanced market of the society.